Exeter Auto Loan built this comparison so drivers facing a repair bill, an insurance deductible or a used-car down payment can see how 22 well-known US lenders price small personal loans. Every figure below comes from published lender disclosures or recent independent reviews, checked this month, and every figure is an estimate that can change without notice.
The list leans toward lenders that work with fair or rebuilding credit and that lend in or near the $500 to $5,000 range, because that is where most car expenses land. A brake job with rotors on both axles often runs $450 to $900, a set of four mid-range tires with mounting and alignment costs $600 to $1,100, a transmission repair can reach $2,500 to $4,500, and a typical used-car down payment is $1,000 to $3,000. The goal is to help you compare personal loan offers on equal terms.
How to compare lenders for car costs
Compare personal loans on four numbers at once: the APR, the origination fee, the amount you actually receive and the total you will repay. A low advertised rate means little if the fee shrinks your deposit or the minimum loan is too large.
Start with the size of the bill. If the shop quote is $850, a $2,500 minimum forces you to pay interest on money you do not need. Lenders such as Oportun, Personify Financial, Regional Finance and World Finance start well under $1,000, while Upgrade, LendingPoint, LendingClub and Upstart start at $1,000. Discover, Best Egg, Prosper and Avant start at $2,000 or more, and Reach Financial begins at $3,500.
Next, match the term to the life of the fix. A set of brakes lasts roughly 30,000 to 70,000 miles, so financing them over five years means you may still be paying for the first set when the second one is due. For most repairs, a 12- to 36-month term is the practical sweet spot.
Finally, look at funding speed. Some personal loan lenders pay by debit card within hours of closing, most send an ACH deposit the next business day, and a few take a week or longer. When a shop charges $25 to $50 a day for storage, faster funding can outweigh a small rate difference.
APR versus origination fees: which number matters
APR matters most because it already folds the origination fee and interest into one yearly cost. Use APR to rank offers, then check the origination fee separately to confirm how much cash actually reaches your bank account.
Origination fees on personal loans in this list range from zero at Discover, PenFed Credit Union, OppLoans and NetCredit to as high as 12% at Upstart. Most lenders deduct the fee from the proceeds. On a $2,000 loan with an 8% fee, you would receive $1,840; netting $2,000 means borrowing about $2,175.
Here is a simple illustration using estimates. A $2,000 loan for 24 months at 24.99% APR works out to about $106.73 per month and roughly $2,561.59 repaid in total. A lower interest rate paired with an 8% fee can end up with a similar APR. Always compare APR to APR, and compare the cash you receive to the bill you need to pay.
| Example offer (estimate) | Loan amount | Fee | Cash received | What to watch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No-fee lender, higher rate | $2,000 | $0 | $2,000 | Full amount reaches the shop |
| 5% fee lender | $2,000 | $100 | $1,900 | May need to borrow slightly more |
| 10% fee lender | $2,000 | $200 | $1,800 | Gap of $200 against the invoice |
The APR guide for drivers walks through more examples of how fees and terms change the true cost of borrowing.
Soft pulls, hard pulls and rate shopping
Most online personal loan lenders on this list offer a soft-pull rate check that does not affect your credit score. A hard inquiry usually happens only after you choose an offer and move to final approval.

Upgrade, Avant, LendingPoint, Universal Credit, Upstart, Best Egg, LendingClub, Prosper, Reach Financial and Discover all advertise a prequalification step that uses a soft inquiry. Branch lenders such as Republic Finance, World Finance and some state programs at Mariner Finance or Regional Finance may run a hard pull at application, so ask before you submit. A single hard inquiry typically lowers a score by a few points.
Collect two or three soft-pull quotes in the same week, rank them by APR and cash received, then accept one. Prequalified rates are estimates, not final offers; the lender will verify income, identity and sometimes employment before setting the final terms. Answer verification requests quickly, since missing documents commonly delay funding.
State availability and rate caps
Your state decides which personal loan lenders can serve you, what they may charge and how large a small loan can be. The same lender can quote different fees and minimums in neighboring states because of state lending law.
Branch lenders are the most limited. Regional Finance operates in roughly 19 states, Republic Finance in about 16, World Finance in about 15 and Lendmark Financial Services in 24. NetCredit is available in around three dozen states and excludes New York, Pennsylvania, Maryland and North Carolina, among others. Rise Credit reaches about 30 states, and Personify Financial covers roughly half the country.
Rate caps also vary. Several states limit consumer installment loans to 36% APR or lower,, so some high-cost lenders do not operate there. Minimum loan sizes shift too: Upstart requires more in Georgia, Hawaii and Massachusetts, and Avant raises its floor in some states. Confirm the lender serves your ZIP code before comparing personal loans. The eligibility requirements page summarizes the basics most lenders check, including age, residency, income and an active bank account.
Side-by-side figures for all 22 lenders
The table lists published or widely reported loan amounts, APR ranges, terms, credit score floors and fees for each lender. Treat every figure as an estimate that may differ by state and change over time.
| Lender | Loan amounts | APR range | Terms | Minimum credit score | Origination or admin fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upgrade | $1,000–$50,000 | 7.74%–35.99% | 24–84 months | Not disclosed | Origination fee 1.85%–9.99%, deducted from proceeds |
| Avant | $2,000–$35,000 (higher minimums in some states) | 9.95%–35.99% | 24–60 months | Not disclosed (reviewers report roughly 550–580) | Administration fee up to 9.99%, deducted from proceeds |
| LendingPoint | $1,000–$36,500 | 7.99%–35.99% | 24–72 months | Not disclosed | Origination fee up to 10%, varies by state and credit |
| Oportun | $300–$10,000 (unsecured) | Up to 36% (no published minimum) | 12–54 months | None required | Administrative fee up to 10%, deducted from proceeds |
| OneMain Financial | $1,500–$30,000 (varies by state) | 9.99%–35.99% | 24–60 months | Not disclosed | Origination fee 1%–10% or a flat $25–$500, depending on state |
| Mariner Finance | $1,000–$25,000 (online applications about $1,500–$14,000) | Up to 35.99% | 12–72 months | Not disclosed (no stated minimum) | Origination fee varies by state; not fully disclosed |
| Lendmark Financial Services | Not disclosed (representative example uses $4,500) | Up to 35.99% on new loans | 12–72 months | Not disclosed | Origination fees may apply depending on state |
| Universal Credit | $1,000–$50,000 | 11.69%–35.99% | 36–60 months | 560 (reported by industry sources; not officially published) | Origination fee 5.25%–9.99%, deducted from proceeds |
| Upstart | $1,000–$75,000 (higher minimums in GA, HI, MA) | 6.3%–35.99% | 36 or 60 months | Not disclosed | Origination fee 0%–12%, deducted from proceeds |
| Best Egg | $2,000–$50,000 | 6.99%–35.99% | 36 or 60 months | 640 | Origination fee 0.99%–9.99% (4.99% minimum on terms of 4+ years) |
| LendingClub | $1,000–$75,000 | 6.53%–35.99% | 24–84 months | Not disclosed | Origination fee 0%–8%, deducted from proceeds |
| Prosper | $2,000–$50,000 | 8.99%–35.99% | 24–72 months | 600 (about 640 typical for solo applicants) | Origination fee 1%–9.99%, deducted from proceeds |
| Reach Financial | $3,500–$40,000 | 5.99%–35.99% | 24–60 months | Not disclosed (most approved borrowers 620+) | Origination fee 0%–8%, deducted from proceeds |
| OppLoans | $500–$5,000 | 129%–195% | 9–18 months | None required | No origination, application or prepayment fee |
| NetCredit | $1,000–$10,000 (less in some states) | 34%–99.99% (varies by state) | 6–60 months | Not disclosed | No origination fee on recently originated loans; no late or prepayment fees |
| Rise Credit | $500–$5,000 | 59.80%–299.00% | 7–36 months | None | Origination fee up to 5% in some states |
| Personify Financial | $500–$15,000 | 36.00%–179.50% | About 12–48 months | Not disclosed (effective minimum around 500 reported) | Origination fee about 5%–5.49% (reported) |
| Regional Finance | $600 and up (maximum varies by state) | Varies by state and loan size; reported 21.9%–99.9% | 12–60 months | Not disclosed | Origination fee up to 10% depending on state |
| World Finance | About $450–$12,000 (varies by state) | Not disclosed | About 6–48 months (reported) | None stated | Not disclosed |
| Republic Finance | Up to $25,000 (minimum not disclosed) | Up to 35.99% (minimum not disclosed) | 12–60 months | None stated | Origination fees may apply; amount not disclosed |
| Discover | $2,500–$40,000 | 6.99%–24.99% | 36–84 months | 660 | No origination fee |
| PenFed Credit Union | $600–$50,000 | 6.09%–17.99% with autopay (reported) | Up to 60 months | Not disclosed | No origination or prepayment fee |
A few patterns stand out. Discover, PenFed Credit Union and LendingClub publish the lowest starting APRs, but Discover and PenFed expect good credit. Avant, LendingPoint, Universal Credit, Upgrade and Oportun accept more fair-credit applicants within a 36% ceiling. OppLoans, NetCredit, Rise Credit and Personify Financial lend to poor credit at APRs that can run far beyond 36%, which places them in a separate, higher-risk tier. Branch lenders such as Mariner, Lendmark, Regional, World and Republic disclose less online, so the true cost of their personal loans often appears only in the final paperwork.
Choosing a lender by credit tier and car expense
Group personal loan lenders by your credit tier first, then by the size of the car expense. A good-credit borrower with a $3,000 bill and a fair-credit borrower with a $700 bill should be looking at very different shortlists.
Good credit, roughly 660 and above
Start with PenFed Credit Union and Discover, since both charge no origination fee and publish APR ceilings well below 36%. LendingClub, Best Egg and Reach Financial are worth a soft-pull check too. A nurse in Dayton with a 700 score and a $2,800 timing-chain repair might compare PenFed, Discover and LendingClub.
Fair credit, roughly 580 to 659
Upgrade, Avant, LendingPoint, Universal Credit, Upstart and Prosper are the core shortlist, along with Oportun if your file is thin. Expect fees and APRs in the upper half of each range. A delivery driver in Tulsa with a 620 score and a $1,400 brake, rotor and caliper bill might see offers from Upgrade or LendingPoint near 30% APR, so the fee comparison matters a lot.
Poor or limited credit, below roughly 580
Oportun, OneMain Financial and the branch lenders often consider applicants that online lenders decline. Only after those options fail should a borrower look at OppLoans, NetCredit, Personify Financial or Rise Credit, and then for the smallest amount and shortest term possible. The guide on bad credit loans for car costs covers alternatives to high-cost personal loans.
How Exeter Auto Loan relates to these lenders
Exeter Auto Loan is an independent loan-matching service, not a lender, and appearing in this comparison does not mean a lender belongs to our network.
When you submit a request, the service passes your details to independent lenders in its network, and those lenders decide whether to make an offer, at what rate and on what terms. Some lenders named here may be part of that network and many are not; this page does not rank them by payment. Submitting an Exeter car loan request is free, there is no obligation to accept an offer, and the initial step typically uses a soft credit inquiry. A lender may run a hard inquiry before final approval.
The practical value is a second benchmark. If an Exeter loan match produces an offer, compare its APR, fee and term against the figures in the table and against any direct quote you collected. If a direct lender is cheaper, take that offer. The how it works page explains each step of the request.
Typical personal loans matched through the Exeter car loan process run about 6% to 35.99% APR, depending on credit, income, state and lender, with terms commonly from 6 to 60 months. Small-dollar borrowers with fair or poor credit usually see the upper half of that range.
Red flags when comparing lenders
Walk away from any personal loan lender that asks for an upfront payment, refuses to show the APR before you sign or pressures you to decide on the spot. Legitimate installment lenders disclose the APR, finance charge and payment schedule in writing.
- Fees before funding. Real lenders deduct an origination fee from the proceeds or add it to the balance; they never ask for a gift card, wire transfer or "insurance deposit" first.
- Missing Truth in Lending disclosure. Federal law requires a written APR, finance charge, amount financed and total of payments. No disclosure means no deal.
- Optional add-ons presented as required. Credit life insurance, disability coverage and membership plans raise the cost. Ask for a quote without them.
- Promises that ignore credit. Any offer claiming that every applicant qualifies, or that no review of your history will happen, is a warning sign.
- Vehicle title as collateral for a small repair. Pledging the car for a $900 repair puts your transportation at risk; an unsecured loan is the safer comparison.
A checklist for comparing personal loans
Use a written checklist so every personal loan offer is judged on the same terms. Fill in one line per lender, then choose the offer with the lowest total cost that still delivers enough cash on time.
- Write down the exact repair, insurance or down payment amount, including taxes and fees.
- Confirm the lender serves your state and lends at least your needed amount without forcing a larger minimum.
- Run a soft-pull rate check with two or three lenders in the same week.
- Record the APR, origination fee, cash received and total repayment for each offer.
- Choose the shortest term whose payment fits your budget, ideally 12 to 36 months for a repair.
- Check how funds are delivered and how fast, and ask the shop whether it accepts that method.
- Read the final agreement for prepayment penalties, late fees and optional add-ons, and decline extras you do not need.
- Set up autopay if it lowers the rate.
To estimate payments before you apply, plug each offer into the car loan calculator and compare the total cost line rather than just the monthly figure.
When a personal loan is not the right tool
Skip personal loans when the repair can wait, when the car is worth less than the fix, or when a cheaper option exists. Borrowing works best for urgent, necessary costs you can repay within a few years.
If a mechanic quotes $3,500 on a car worth $3,000, a down payment on a replacement may be smarter than repairing it. Many shops offer 6- to 12-month promotional financing, and most insurers allow monthly premium installments. A federal credit union small-dollar loan is capped at 28% APR. Comparing these alternatives against the personal loans in the table is the surest way to keep a car expense from turning into long-term debt. Exeter Auto Loan publishes this comparison so you can make that call with clear numbers in hand.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why do the lenders in this comparison show such different APR ceilings?
Each lender targets a different credit tier and operates under different state laws. Credit unions and prime-focused lenders cap APR well below 36%, mainstream online lenders usually stop at 35.99%, and a few poor-credit lenders charge triple-digit APRs where state law allows. All figures are estimates that can change.
Does a lender appearing on this page mean Exeter Auto Loan will send my request to it?
No. Exeter Auto Loan is independent, and listing a lender here does not mean it participates in the matching network. The comparison is a market benchmark you can use to judge any offer, whether it comes through the service or directly from a lender.
How often are the lender figures on this page reviewed?
The figures were checked against published lender disclosures and recent independent reviews this month. Lenders change rates, fees and minimum amounts without notice, so always confirm the final APR and fee in your own loan agreement before signing.
